Printer-friendly version

Honors & Awards

The Economics Department offers several awards for students.

Departmental Scholars are selected annually by the department faculty from juniors and seniors with grade point averages of 3.25 or above. Departmental scholars are recognized with a certificate at the Honors Convocation near the end of spring semester.

The Canfield Scholarship is awarded each spring to an outstanding sophomore or junior majoring in Economics, Employment Relations or Business Economics. The selection is based on achievement, demonstrated ability and potential for further professional growth.

The John Rezelman Economics Award
is an annual scholarship awarded in memory of "Jack" Rezelman, an economist and member of the Economics Department for many years. The award provides financial support for a promising scholar in the field of economics.

The Thomas Jones-Tavano Memorial Award
is a merit based scholarship awarded in memory of Thomas Jones-Tavano, class of 1974. It provides financial support to an outstanding sophomore or junior studying economics.

Omicron Delta Epsilon is the International Honor Society in Economics. ODE consists of more than 400 chapters and 10,000 active members in the United States and other countries. The objectives of ODE are recognition of scholastic attainment, promotion of closer ties between students and faculty, and the publication of economic research by its members in The American Economist, the official journal of ODE.