Printer-friendly version

Awards & Honors

Award Opportunities for English and Communication Students

Departmental Scholars

Canfield Scholars

Eva Strait-Dean Award

Kelsie Harder Award

Elsie D. Kristiansen Award

Israel Kaplan Essay Award

Excellence in English Award

Sylvia Angus Creative Writing Award

Maurice Kenny Creative Writing Award

Susan Mallon Ross Mass Communication Award

English and Communication Department Honors Program

Sigma Tau Delta

Lambda Pi Eta

College Writing Center Essay Contest

Student Awards include the Departmental Scholar Award given each spring as a formal recognition of academic excellence in the major and the Canfield Scholarship awarded each year to the outstanding junior or sophomore in Communication and in English.

Writing awards include the Israel Kaplan Essay Award, the Sylvia Angus Creative Writing Award, and the Maurice Kenny Creative Writing Award. In addition, the College Writing Center each year honors the writers of the top essays in a variety of areas. The Elsie D. Kristiansen Award is given to the student who wins the department's annual public speaking competition. The Eva Strait-Dean award is given as a testament to a St. Lawrence County resident who attended Potsdam Normal School during the 1930s and spent her life in the field of communication. The Susan Mallon Ross Mass Communication award is given to a student showing outstanding scholarship in mass communication. In addition, academic excellence is honored through membership in the English and Communication Department Honors Program, Sigma Tau Delta, the International English Honor Society, and Lambda Pi Eta, the Communication Honor Society.

For more information on these awards and on other awards, contact English and Communication Department Chair, Dr. Richard Henry.

2015 Honors Convocations

2014 Honors Convocations

2013 Honors Convocations

2012 Honors Convocations

2011 Honors Convocations

2010 Honors Convocations

2009 Honors Convocations