Awards & Honors

Award Opportunities for English and Communication Students

  Departmental Scholars
  Canfield Scholars
  Eva Strait-Dean Award
  Kelsie Harder Award
  Elsie D. Kristiansen Award
  Israel Kaplan Essay Award
  Excellence in English Award
  Sylvia Angus Creative Writing Award
  Maurice Kenny Creative Writing Award
  Susan Mallon Ross Mass Communication Award
  English and Communication Department Honors Program
  Sigma Tau Delta
  Lambda Pi Eta
  College Writing Center Essay Contest

Student Awards include the Departmental Scholar Award given each spring as a formal recognition of academic excellence in the major and the Canfield Scholarship awarded each year to the outstanding junior or sophomore in Communication and in English.

Writing awards include the Israel Kaplan Essay Award, the Sylvia Angus Creative Writing Award, and the Maurice Kenny Creative Writing Award. In addition, the College Writing Center each year honors the writers of the top essays in a variety of areas. The Elsie D. Kristiansen Award is given to the student who wins the department's annual public speaking competition. The Eva Strait-Dean award is given as a testament to a St. Lawrence County resident who attended Potsdam Normal School during the 1930s and spent her life in the field of communication. The Susan Mallon Ross Mass Communication award is given to a student showing outstanding scholarship in mass communication. In addition, academic excellence is honored through membership in the English and Communication Department Honors Program, Sigma Tau Delta, the International English Honor Society, and Lambda Pi Eta, the Communication Honor Society.

For more information on these awards and on other awards, contact English and Communication Department Chair, Dr. Richard Henry.

2015 Honors Convocations

2014 Honors Convocations

2013 Honors Convocations

2012 Honors Convocations

2011 Honors Convocations

2010 Honors Convocations

2009 Honors Convocations