Biology Honors Society

Beta Beta Beta

The Lambda Xi chapter was founded at SUNY Potsdam in 1967 by Dr. Robert Cerwonka.

Dr. Cerwonka later went on to become an officer of Beta Beta Beta (also known as Tri Beta) at the national level. Since the formation of our chapter, a number of students and faculty have been awarded grants for research from Tri Beta. When possible, Lambda Xi members have attended both the regional and international Tri Beta conferences.

Each Spring members of the Lambda Xi chapter choose recipients of two awards.

The Tri Beta Research Award:

Selected by members and awarded to a member who has demonstrated excellence in biology and research.

The 2010 recipient of the Tri Beta Research Award was Brayton Hill.

The Tri Beta Service Award:

Selected by members and awarded to a graduating member of Tri Beta who intends to continue in the field of biology upon graduation from SUNY Potsdam.

The 2010 recipient of the Tri Beta Service Award was Heather Levac.

2010-2011 Officers:
President: Brittany Hoover
Vice President: Rachel McKinney
Treasurer: Lindsay Thompson
Secretary: Tyson Terpstra
Historian: Charlie Puerner

Advisor: Dr. Rob Snyder 307 Stowell Hall