Advisory Council Members

Click on each council member to learn more about their professional background, in addition to contact information.  Council members are here to work with you year round, and we invite you to reach out at anytime with questions, or advice related to your career goals.  We look forward to supporting you!

  • Joshua LaFave (Chair), SUNY Potsdam Class of 2003, Director, Graduate Studies, SUNY Potsdam. lafavejj@potsdam.edu
  • Duane Pelkey (Vice Chair), SUNY Potsdam Class of 1989, Vice President and Commercial Banking Team Leader, Community Bank, based in Potsdam.
    Duane.pelkey@communitybankna.com
  • Michael Beacham, Class of 1979, Assistant Vice President for Sales and Marketing Support, Columbian Financial Group, Syracuse, NY
    beach24@earthlink.net
  • Achille Cavatassi, Class of 2004, Relationship Manager for JP Morgan Chase Bank, Rochester, NY.
    Achille.m.Cavatassi@jpmchase.com

    Allison Charette, Class of 2009, General Electric, Schenectady, NY.
    allison.charette@gmail.com
  • Joseph DeMart, Retired Executive Director, St. Lawrence County Housing Council, formerly Vice President at the Newton Falls Paper Company and recently retired as Director of Strategic Development for Kodak, where he was employed for 37 years.
    demartj@gmail.com
  • Jarrett Felton, Class of 2004, Financial Advisor, Merrill Lynch Wealth Management, Pittsford, NY.
    jarrett.felton@ml.com
  • Allyson Doctor, Assistant Vice President for TeleHealth Solutions and Outreach Development and Coordination for the Carolinas HealthCare System in Charlotte, NC.
    adoctor@carolina.rr.com
    or allyson.doctor@carolinashealthcare.org
  • Jeff Doctor, Class of 1995, Business Entrepreneur based in Charlotte, NC and president of CDK Strategies, a lobbying firm specializing in issues related to energy and Native Americans.
    jdoc@carolina.rr.com
  • Meaghan (Meg) Flood, Class of 2006, Analyst to Program Management and Current Year Work Plan Management for National Grid, based in Syracuse, NY.
    Meaghan.Flood@us.ngrid.com
  • Mark Hassenplug, Class of 1983, Global Pharmaceutical Markets Leader and Key Accounts Partner for Ernst & Young, LLP. Mark lives near Philadelphia, PA.
    mhassenplug@comcast.net
  • John Struthers, Class of 1997, President of Normont Industrial, a global supplier and manufacturer of industrial hardware and commercial vehicle components, based in Montreal, Canada.
    jstruthers@jasmng.com
    or jstruthers@normont.com
  • John Wicke, BS from Clarkson University with HR concentration, Development Officer, SUNY Potsdam, former General Manager, Penski, Inc. Staffing, Potsdam; Owner, CopyShop Business Center in Potsdam; and Town Councilman, Town of Massena.
    wickejm@potsdam.edu
  • Rob Zolner, Co-founder and Sales Associate of Northern Music and Video, Potsdam and Adjunct Professor with SUNY Potsdam’s Crane Institute for Music Business.
    rob@northernmusicandvideo.com