Printer-friendly version

Athletics Recognized for Academics

48 Bears Among SUNYAC's Spring '09 All-Academics


Forty-Eight SUNY Potsdam athletes were recently named to either the Spring 2009 All-Academic Team of the State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) or the SUNYAC Commissioner's List according to conference commissioner Dr. Patrick R. Damore. Twenty athletes qualified to be on both of these 2009 lists.

To qualify for the SUNYAC All-Academic Team, the varsity athlete must have must have completed the entire season and maintained at least a 3.3 GPA for the spring semester. To be named to the Commissioner's List, a varsity athlete must have completed the entire season while having also maintained a 3.3 GPA for three semesters.

Eighteen swim team members were honored for their academic achievements. Lindsay Borakove (New York City), Adrienne Brown (Endwell), Alyssa Carey (Jamesville), Kierstin Clark (Troy), Kathryn Edwards (Cicero), Elora Garland (Potsdam), Jordan Goff (Lockport), Sarah Gutenmann (North Lawrence), Sierra Langkammerer (Fayetteville), Edward McIntyre (Laurel) and Ryan Wentz (North Towanda) were named to the All-Academic Team. Commissioner?s List members included: Daniel Callahan (Latham), Nathan LaRowe (Latham), Matthew Meany (Stony Point) and Kirstin Teall (Victor). Kathryn Edwards (Cicero), Alyssa Peake (Newark), Marcella Shrout (Rochester) and Elizabeth Winkler (Amherst) were named to both the All-Academic team and the Commissioner?s List.

Ice Hockey players Luke Beck (Charlottetown, PEI), Patrick Choules (Bradford, ONT) and Mark Sullivan (Stouffville, ONT) were All-Academic while Spencer Noyes (Oneida) was named to the Commissioner?s List. Steve Cornelissen (Courtice, ONT), Travis Crickard (St. John?s, NL) and Kevin MacLellan (Indian River, PE) were chosen for both the All-Academic Team and the Commissioner?s List.

Five women's basketball players were chosen as both All-Academics and members of the Commissioner?s List. They include: Maureen Curley (Madrid), Hannah Fairchild (Brushton), Rachel Graf (Elbridge), Molly Krauza (Fredonia) and LeighAnne LeBrasseur (Moira). Teammate Stephanie Marcotte (Willsboro) was named All-Academic.

Men?s Basketball players Alvin Dike (Bronx) and Nelson Gedeon (Far Rockaway) were chosen as both All-Academics and members of the Commissioner?s List while Greg Lothridge (East Syracuse) was named an All-Academic.

The women's softball team had four team members among the SUNYAC academics. Allison Breivogel (Bellmore), Allison Smiddy (Fort Covington), and Megan Strough (Lorraine) were named All-Academics while Molly Flynn (Plattsburgh) was selected for both All-Academic and Commissioner?s Lists.
Women?s Lacrosse players Ashley Bordignon (New Westminster, BC), Kathleen Frear (Scotia), Aubrey Macintosh (Ballston Lake), Joan McCabe (Watertown), Kaci Milligan (Liverpool) and Maribeth Simmons (Clinton, CT) were selected for the All-Academic team. Allie Nettles (Carthage) was named both All-Academic and also to the Commissioner?s List.

Men?s lacrosse player David Blackburn (Ogdensburg) qualified for both the Commissioner?s List and the All-Academic.

Golf team members Zach Lennox (DeRuyter) and Chad Shippee (Corinth) were named All-Academics and also selected for the Commissioner?s List.

Media contact:

Alexandra Jacobs Wilke, Office of Public Affairs, (315) 267-2918