Pike named volleyball coach at Brockport


The College at Brockport athletic department has announced the hiring of Steve Pike as the head coach for women's volleyball.

“Coach Pike brings a great deal of experience as a head coach to the program,” said Athletic Director Erick Hart. “I am confident that he will stabilize a program that has seen quite a bit of turnover in the past few years and return the team back to the top of the conference standings and into the national spotlight.”

Pike comes to Brockport after 11 seasons as the head coach at Potsdam, also members of the State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC).

The veteran coach has served as head coach of the Bears since the 2001 season. The 2005 SUNYAC Coach of the Year was an assistant coach on the Potsdam staff for four seasons prior to being named head coach. During his time in the north country, Pike also served as the Bears' head softball coach from 2002-2005.

Pike coached the first four-time all-conference player in Potsdam history in Jamie Kraus and had at least one member of the team on the SUNYAC all-conference squad each year. Pike coached two conference Rookie of the Year award winners in back-to-back years, in 2007 and again in 2008.

Pike was named the Potsdam Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) Coach of the Year in 2006 and has been a member of the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) since 1999. In 2010, Pike organized the first ever international trip in program history, taking the team to Costa Rica where the Bears took on the Costa Rica National Team.

After just 12 wins combined in the 2009 and 2010 seasons, Pike turned the program into conference contenders, compiling 42 wins over the last two seasons, including a 23-17 record last season earning the Bears a trip to the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Upstate/Metro Tournament.

Pike takes over a program at Brockport that has seen considerable success over the years. Under Head Coach Dr. Frank Short, the Golden Eagles advanced to the NCAA Tournament six consecutive years from 1989-1994. Brockport also advanced to the national tournament in 1983 and most recently in 2006.