Printer-friendly version

Pierce garners all-conference accolades

Pierce garners all-conference accolades


Sophomore Curtis Pierce
Sophomore Curtis Pierce guided the Bears to a 7-11 conference record and a berth in the SUNYAC Tournament.

SUNY Potsdam sophomore Curtis Pierce was named to the 2010-11 All-State University of New York Athletic Conference Men?s Basketball third team, the league announced Monday, Feb. 28.

Pierce, a forward from Brooklyn, N.Y., is currently in the top 10 in the conference in rebounding (7.9 per game), field goal percentage (.522), steals (1.69 per game) and minutes played (33.1 per game). He led the Bears in all those categories as well as scoring, with 13.9 points per contest.

Despite being relatively undersized (6-foot-2) for the power forward position, Pierce consistently excelled playing against larger opponents on the block, using a combination of uncanny tenacity and solid footwork.

?This is a well-deserved honor for Curtis,? Potsdam coach Sherry Dobbs said. ?He clearly put in the work and effort. It?s a sign of better things to come for both him and our program in the future.?

Pierce, who collected five double-doubles and scored a season-high 25 points at New Paltz on Jan. 28, led the Bears to a 7-11 league record and a SUNYAC Tournament berth. He scored a team-high 18 points to go along with seven rebounds in the team?s quarterfinal loss at top-seeded Oswego, an NCAA Division III Tournament at-large qualifier.

See below for the complete 2010-11 All-SUNYAC Men?s Basketball teams and honorees.

First team:
Chad Burridge, Oswego
Chris Cartwright, Buffalo State
Kyheem Green, Brockport
Chris Ruiz, Plattsburgh
Jake Simmons, Buffalo State

Second team:
Errol Daniyan, Plattsburgh
Derek Hahn, Oneonta
Justin Mitchell, Buffalo State
Gerald Williams, Brockport
Jesse Winter, Cortland

Third team:
Curtis Pierce, Potsdam
Troy Talbot, Oneonta
Shereff Taylor, New Paltz
Hayden Ward, Oswego
Harris Wichard, New Paltz

2010-2011 Player of the Year: Chad Burridge, Oswego
2010-2011 Rookie of the Year: Jon Ivy, Brockport
Coach of the Year: Adam Stockwell, Oswego

Media contact:

Alexandra Jacobs Wilke, Office of Public Affairs, (315) 267-2918