Printer-friendly version

Swimmer Taylor garners all-conference accolades

Swimmer Taylor garners all-conference accolades


Alexander Taylor action
Sophomore Alexander Taylor competes in a dual meet against Clarkson on Jan. 21 at Maxcy Hall Pool.

SUNY Potsdam sophomore Alexander Taylor was named to the 2010-11 All-State University of New York Athletic Conference Men?s Swimming & Diving second team as the league announced its all-conference teams Wednesday.

Taylor, a Port Ewen, N.Y., native, earned the honor by finishing in second place in the 100 breaststroke at the SUNYAC Championships in Buffalo, N.Y., last week. His time of 58.93 seconds was just four one-hundredths away from a school record and just 1.5 seconds behind Geneseo?s CJ Schaub, who set a conference and meet record in the preliminary round.

A multi-event swimmer, Taylor also finished seventh in the 200 breaststroke (2:13.07) and 200 individual medley (1:59.30) at the conference meet to lead the Bears to an eighth-place finish.

Taylor claimed SUNYAC Men?s Swimmer of the Week accolades for the week of Jan. 17-23 after winning five individual races and being a part of one victorious relay team in dual meet wins over North Country rivals Clarkson (126-111) and St. Lawrence (135-105).

Taylor?s award is the second of its kind to be earned by a Potsdam swimmer in the last two seasons. Ryan Wentz (Pendleton, N.Y.) earned second-team all-conference recognition as a sophomore in 2009-10.

The top three finishers in individual events make the all-conference teams. The individual champions are on the first team, while the second- and third-place finishers are on the second team. See below for the 2010-11 All-SUNYAC Men?s Swimming & Diving teams.

First Team?
Austin Brennan, Geneseo
Wills DeMoulin, Geneseo
Matt Distler, Cortland
Nate Foley, Geneseo
Ken Pink, Geneseo
CJ Schaub, Geneseo
Frank Schiappa, Geneseo
Ben Strickland, Cortland
Dan Strothenke, Geneseo
Ryan Walsh, Oneonta
Rob Webb, New Paltz

Second Team?
Chris Austin, Brockport
Jeremy Boyce, Geneseo
Dan Brigano, Brockport
Travis Burke, Cortland
John Estanislau, Fredonia
Mark Hanifin, Cortland
Josh Kaplan, Geneseo
Daniel Maximowicz, Cortland
Mike Mitchell, Fredonia
Pete Nastasi, New Paltz
Justin Nelson, Cortland
Daniel Salvatore, Cortland
Erik Scheemaker, Cortland
Judd Simon, Cortland
Jeff Singer, Geneseo
Nate Steger, Buffalo State
Alexander Taylor, Potsdam
Aaron Wagner, Geneseo

Media contact:

Alexandra Jacobs Wilke, Office of Public Affairs, (315) 267-2918