Printer-friendly version

Kellicutt earns all-conference honors

Kellicutt earns all-conference honors


Senior captain Aimee Kellicutt
Senior captain Aimee Kellicutt led the Bears in scoring, rebounding, assists and steals during the 2010-11 season.

SUNY Potsdam senior Aimee Kellicutt was named to the 2010-11 All-State University of New York Athletic Conference Women?s Basketball third team, the league announced Monday, Feb. 28.

Kellicutt, a guard from Lisle, N.Y., currently ranks in the top 10 in the conference in scoring (12.1 points per game), assists (2.92 per game), free throw percentage (.763), steals (2.52 per game) and minutes played (30.4 per game). In addition, she led the team in field goal percentage (.378) and rebounding (4.2 per game).

As the team?s starting point guard and one of its two senior captains, Kellicutt embraced her leadership responsibilities while using her quickness and playmaking ability on both ends of the floor.

?I?m pleased Aimee is being recognized for her hard work and consistent effort this season,? Potsdam coach Tara Ruckh said. ?It?s nice to have a player recognized by the conference and its coaches even without our team having a lot of success.?

Kellicutt, whose scoring average jumped to 13.3 points per game against league opponents, helped the Bears remain in the hunt for a SUNYAC Tournament spot until the final weekend of the regular season. In early February, she was selected to the 2010-11 Capital One Academic All-District 1 first team as chosen by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

See below for the complete 2010-11 All-SUNYAC Women?s Basketball teams and honorees.

First team:
Brittany Cohen, Cortland
Bri Dunton, Geneseo
Staci McElroy, Buffalo State
Alyssa Polosky, Geneseo
Samantha Szkotak, Oneonta

Second team:
Molly Byrne, Cortland
Khadija Campbell, Geneseo
Maliqua Fisher, New Paltz
Barb Kiliszek, Buffalo State
Kayla Ryan, Oswego

Third team:
Taylor Amarando, Plattsburgh
Rebecca Bucci, Oneonta
Aimee Kellicutt, Potsdam
Alex McCullough, New Paltz
Jennifer Patten, Cortland
Madison Slagle, Oneonta

2010-2011 Player of the Year: Brittany Cohen, Cortland
2010-2011 Rookie of the Year: Kathleen Payne, Plattsburgh?
Coach of the Year: Scott Hemer, Geneseo

Media contact:

Alexandra Jacobs Wilke, Office of Public Affairs, (315) 267-2918