Printer-friendly version

Hollenbeck, Hay earn All-SUNYAC honors

Hollenbeck, Hay earn All-SUNYAC honors


POTSDAM, N.Y.?SUNY Potsdam women's soccer players Hailey Hollenbeck (Hudson, N.Y./Hudson) and Chloe Hay (Burnt Hills, N.Y./Burnt-Hills Ballston Lake) have been named to the All-State University of New York Athletic Conference's third team. This is the seventh time in program history the Bears have had multiple all-conference selections and the first since 2003.

Hollenbeck, who missed all of last season due to an injury, returned healthy in 2013 to lead Potsdam in scoring. The freshman forward scored three goals and recorded two assists for eight points, while starting all 17 games for the Bears. Her standout moment of the season was scoring the game-winning goal against New Paltz in overtime on Oct. 11.

Hay, a sophomore defender, started in each of the 14 games she played this season. She helped anchor a Potsdam defense that allowed its fewest goals (27) since 2009 and cut its goals-allowed nearly in half from 2012. Hay has started every one of the 32 games she's played in her two seasons with the Bears.

"I'm thrilled for Chloe and Hailey individually," said Head Coach Mark Misiak. "I think they'd be the first to admit, it's recognition of our program moving forward. I think Chloe and Hailey both had really strong seasons and we expect them to keep progressing with out program."

Potsdam finished the year with a 5-11-1 overall record and a 2-7 mark in the SUNYAC.

See the complete teams below:

First Team
Name Yr. Pos. School Hometown/High School
Katie Gildemeyer Sr. F Brockport Baldwinsville, N.Y. / C.W. Baker
Kelly Knight Sr. F Cortland Rochester, N.Y. / Greece Olympia
Karly DeSimone Sr. F Oneonta Clifton Park, N.Y. / Shenendehowa
Jordan Dudish Sr. M Buffalo State Grand Island, N.Y. / Grand Island
Amanda Regensburger Sr. M Oneonta Selden, N.Y. / Newfield
Bailey Waterbury So. M Oswego Plattsburgh, N.Y. / Beekmantown
Gabe Boldinski So. D Buffalo State Tonawanda, N.Y. / Kenmore East
Matison Williams Sr. D Cortland Washingtonville, N.Y. / Washingtonville
Krystal Scott Jr. D Oneonta Centereach, N.Y. / Newfield
Georgia Traynor Jr. D Oswego Tomkins Cove, N.Y. / North Rockland
Linda Banfield Sr. G Buffalo State Honeoye Falls, N.Y. / Honeoye Falls-Lima

Second Team
Vanessa Gillette Sr. F Brockport Fredonia, N.Y. / Fredonia
Kristie Kleine Fr. F Fredonia Cazenovia, N.Y. / Cazenovia
Tia Segretto Jr. F Oswego Memphis, N.Y. / Jordan Elbridge
Courtney Szczesniak So. M Brockport Liverpool, N.Y. / Liverpool
Emma Whittle Jr. M Cortland Center Moriches, N.Y. / Center Moriches
Alexa Krebs Sr. M Geneseo Clarence, N.Y. / Clarence
Eleni Anselmi Jr. M New Paltz Garnerville, N.Y. / North Rockland
Emily LaLone Sr. M Plattsburgh Watertown, N.Y. / Immaculate Heart Central
Alexa Wandy Fr. D Geneseo Lagrangeville, N.Y. / Arlington
Liz Lasota So. D Oneonta Cutchogue, N.Y. / Mattituck
Rachel Axt Fr. G Cortland Basking Ridge, NJ / Ridge

Third Team
Chelsea Stahl Fr. F Brockport Brockport, N.Y. / Brockport
Erin O'Connor Fr. F Geneseo Remsen, N.Y. / Remsen
Nikki Liadka Sr. F Oswego Liverpool, N.Y. / Liverpool
Hailey Hollenbeck Fr. F Potsdam Hudson, N.Y. / Hudson
Samantha Gardner Sr. M Cortland Fairport, N.Y. / Fairport
Maria Green Sr. M Fredonia Loudonville, N.Y. / Colonie
Bri Dolan Jr. M Oswego Fayetteville, N.Y. / Fayetteville-Manlius
Rebecca Carucci So. D Cortland East Islip, N.Y. / East Islip
Erica Berry So. D Oneonta Bellmore, N.Y. / Kellenberg Memorial
Chloe Hay So. D Potsdam Burnt Hills, N.Y. / Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake
Julia Sanger Sr. G Geneseo Penfield, N.Y. / Fairport
Player of the Year: Karly DeSimone, Oneonta
Rookie of the Year: Chelsea Stahl, Brockport
Coach of the Year: Brian McGrane, Oswego

Media contact:

Alexandra Jacobs Wilke, Office of Public Affairs, (315) 267-2918