You are here: Administrators Reference > User Administration

 

User Administration

CommonSpot users with site- and server-level administrative permissions can create and manage users and groups. To manage users within CommonSpot, select Admin - User Administration.

The User Administration dialog displays, as shown below. CommonSpot's User Administration features give you multiple views of contributors at your site and a flexible means of creating and maintaining users and controlling access.

Use this dialog to create new user accounts, to view a directory of current users, and to remove users. Click a column head to sort alphabetically by Name, phone number, email address, user type (shared or dedicated contributor, etc.), or time of last login.

Optionally click Show Details to display group membership information in the Name column, as shown.

Mouseover to view larger

Use the dropdowns in combination with the alphabetical links to refine your search, or filter by selecting user type from the Show dropdown. You can show all users, as shown, or filter for active or expired users, non-contributors, contributors by type, or users with no administrator.

Filter for Users with No Admin to identify users without an assigned administrator. Users must have either an assigned administrator or admin rights in order for specific admin functions to be available, such as editing user profile information.

Selecting Deleted Users from the Show dropdown as shown below, displays a list of users marked for deletion, but not permanently deleted because of current CommonSpot activity. 

Once you reassign their current activities, and complete the deletion process, deleted users no longer have login rights and you cannot modify their profile information. You can optionally "undelete" these users, as shown above, to restore rights. You can permanently delete users with no current activity.

Manage Organizations

Opens the Manage Organizations dialog for categorizing users by organization

Manage Companies

Opens the Manage Companies dialog for use by "hosting" sites or others using more than one unique Users database for supporting multiple customers

Click this icon or the user name to display the Add User Informationdialog in edit mode for existing users.

Displays the User Administrators dialog for assigning an administrator to the current user.

Displays the Group Membership dialog for managing group memberships for the user

Displays the User Contribution Summary dialog for reviewing current activity for this user

Removes this user from the sytem. Selecting this option for currently active users prompts you to reassign content before marking this user for deletion. You can "undelete" these users, as shown above and described below. You can permanently delete users without pending CommonSpot tasks. See Delete User.

Displays when you select the Deleted Users filter from the Show dropdown as shown above for Designer. These are users marked for deletion, but who cannot be permanently deleted because of current activity or content ownership. Click to undelete. See Delete User.

Add New User

Displays the Add User Information dialog for creating or editing contact information (name, email address, phone number, etc.) or login information (user ID, password, contributor status, etc.) for new users.

 

Related Links

Add User Information

Manage Organizations

Manage Companies

User Administrators

User Administrator(s) – Add Users

User Administrator(s) – Add Groups

Group Membership

Add User to Group(s)

User Contribution Summary

Group Membership – Add Users

Delete User

Delete User


You can download PDF versions of the Content Contributor's, Administrator's, and Elements Reference documents from the support section of paperthin.com (requires login).


For technical support:

http://www.paperthin.com/support/