Printer-friendly version

Walker Fellowship Program

Walker Fellowship Program


The Provost's Office and Vice President for Academic Affairs at SUNY Potsdam is pleased to announce the continuation of the T. Urling and Mabel Walker Research Fellowship Program for 2014.

The purpose of this program is to encourage faculty from the region's 11 institutions of higher education (Adirondack Community College, Clarkson University, Clinton Community College, Jefferson Community College, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, North Country Community College, Paul Smith's College, St. Lawrence University, SUNY Canton, SUNY Plattsburgh and SUNY Potsdam) to undertake research on critical issues confronting North Country communities, and to make recommendation(s) for possible solutions.Full- or part-time teaching and non-teaching faculty from the 11 institutions are eligible to apply.

The program is designed to promote greater community-academic cooperation than has traditionally been the case in other research programs. Proposals that include a strong statement of support from a local individual/organization that clearly explains how the community will benefit from the project results will be given preference.

Funding for this program comes from the Campaign for the T. Urling and Mabel Walker Research Fellowship Program administered by the Provost's Office and Vice President for Academic Affairs.Two research projects of up to $5,000.00 will be awarded this year.The amount of the award for each project will be determined by the Walker Fellowship Steering Committee.In the past, funds have been used to pay a student assistant, support travel costs, purchase software, or other supplies. Only in limited cases have funds been used as a stipend for the researcher.

For further information and an application, please visit the website at the following link or call the Provost's Office at 315-267-2108.

Proposals are due January 15, 2014.

Media contact:

Alexandra Jacobs Wilke, Office of Public Affairs, (315) 267-2918