Printer-friendly version

First Year Programs

SUNY Potsdam is the first school in the SUNY system to merge academics, residential accommodations, and the faculty into one first year program!

  • Orientation
    Become familiar with your orientation and introduction process, our First Year Success Seminar, Welcome Convocation, and other programs sponsored by this office.

    Details on how to sign up for Orientation will be available soon.

    Summer Orientation 2016 Dates:
    Session 1: Monday, 6/27/16 Tuesday, 6/28/16
    Session 2: Wednesday, 6/29/16 Thursday, 6/30/16
    Session 3: Tuesday, 7/5/16 Wednesday, 7/6/16
    Session 4: Thursday, 7/7/16 Friday, 7/8/16
    Session 5: Monday, 7/11/16 Tuesday, 7/12/16
    Session 6: Thursday, 7/21/16 Friday, 7/22/16

    View Parent Orientation Tips

    New: Welcome Convocation
    Friday, 8/26/2016 at 4 p.m.

First Year Experience Program

Explore the residential component of the first year program available at SUNY Potsdam.

First Year Interest Groups

Browse through the different academic cluster of classes offered to incoming students and see which one is right for you.

First Year Success Seminar (FYSS)

Part of being enrolled in First Year Success Seminar is that new first-year students share a common experience that will enhance their learning in and outside the college classroom. This year those enrolled in FYSS will share the common experience of writing their first college essay that the FYSS instructor will collect the first day of class. Click on the above PDFs to access this year?s assignment and to review the correct works cited format you need to follow.

Archived FYSS Information & Photos

If you have any questions about our first year programs, please contact Annette Robbins (Director, Student and Family Transitions) at


"The First Year Success Seminar is a course tailored to meet my needs as a new college student!"