First Year Programs

SUNY Potsdam is the first school in the SUNY system to merge academics, residential accommodations, and the faculty into one first year program!

  • Orientation
    Become familiar with your orientation and introduction process, our First Year Success Seminar, Welcome Convocation, and other programs sponsored by this office.

    For students/families who are starting to plan for our 2015 New Student Summer Orientation, please note that your "Welcome to SUNY Potsdam Orientation Packet" will be mailed out mid-February.

    Summer Orientation 2015 Dates:


      Session 1:  Tuesday, 6/30/15 – Wednesday, 7/1/15
      Session 2:  Tuesday, 7/7/15 – Wednesday, 7/8/15
      Session 3:  Tuesday, 7/14/15 – Wednesday, 7/15/15
      Session 4:  Thursday, 7/16/15 – Friday, 7/17/15
      Session 5:  Monday, 7/20/15 – Tuesday, 7/21/15
      Session 6:  Thursday, 7/23/15 – Friday, 7/24/15
  • First Year Experience Program
    Explore the residential component of the first year program available at SUNY Potsdam.
  • First Year Interest Groups
    Browse through the different academic cluster of classes offered to incoming students and see which one is right for you.
  • First Year Success Seminar (FYSS)
    2015 Common Essay Assignment (PDF)

    2015 Common Essay example of the proper Works Cited format (PDF)


    Part of being enrolled in First Year Success Seminar is that new first-year students share a common experience that will enhance their learning in and outside the college classroom.  This year those enrolled in FYSS will share the common experience of writing their first college essay that the FYSS instructor will collect the first day of class. Click on the above PDFs to access this year’s assignment and to review the correct works cited format you need to follow.

Arviched FYSS Information & Photos  


If you have any questions about our first year programs please contact the Director of Student & Family Transitions via e-mail at tyola@potsdam.edu.