**Evening Concert Series** 

2017-2018 Season

# POTSDAM BRASS QUINTET

John Ellis, trumpet
James Madeja, trumpet
Lauren Becker, horn
Mark Hartman, trombone
Charles Guy, tuba

# 50<sup>th</sup> ANNIVERSARY CONCERT

Monday, April 23, 2018 7:30 PM Sara M. Snell Music Theater

#### **PROGRAM**

Canzona per sonare No. 2 con ogni sorte di stromenti (1608)

Giovanni Gabrieli (ca. 1554–1612) trans. Robert King

Opening work on inaugural recital of Crane Brass Quartet, November 5, 1968

Four Movements for Five Brass (1957)

Collier Jones (1928–2013)

Introduction and March

Pretentions

Waltz

Finale-Allegro

Work on inaugural recital of Crane Brass Quintet, November 3, 1969

Fire Dance (2004)

Anthony DiLorenzo (b. 1967)

Opening work on inaugural recital of Potsdam Brass Quintet with current members, November 11, 2015

Metropolitan Quintet (1971)

John O'Reilly

(b. 1940)

Allegro

Largo

Presto

Work written for Potsdam Brass Quintet by Crane School of Music Alumnus John O'Reilly; first performance by Potsdam Brass Quintet, February 11, 1971 Brass Quintet No. 4 (1994)

Arthur Frackenpohl (b. 1924)

Chorale: Nimm von uns, Herr, du treuer Gott

Fughetta

Prelude

Air

Finale

Work by Crane School of Music Faculty Emeritus Arthur Frackenpohl; first performance by Potsdam Brass Quintet, September 19, 1997

## Remarks by Anthony Plog

Polychromes (2018)

Anthony Plog

Polychrome 1 Cubic Agitated Somber Gallop

Polychrome 2

#### World Premiere

Work commissioned by the Potsdam Brass Quintet and The Crane School of Music in celebration of the 50th anniversary of the Potsdam Brass Quintet

# PERMANENT MEMBERS OF POTSDAM BRASS QUINTET 1968–2018

#### Trumpet

Gordon Mathie (1968–1982) Michael Tunnell (1982–1983) Everett McCurdy (1983–1984) John Ellis (1984–present)

## Trumpet

John Schorge (1968–1985) James Madeja (1985–present)

#### Horn

Albert Schaberg (1968–1998) John Ericson (1998–2001) Kelly Drifmeyer (2001–2016) Lauren Becker (2016–present)

#### Trombone

Jerry Davis (1968–1970) John Upchurch (1970–1977) Richard Cryder (1977–1985) Mark Hartman (1985–present)

#### Tuba

Kevin Ladd (1969–1971) Peter Popiel (1971–2002) Charles Guy (2002–present)

Sabbatical and leave-of-absence replacements: Mark Brown, tuba (1979); Denise Root, horn (1990); Timothy Hudson, trumpet (1991–1992); Michael Coldren, tuba (1998); Jason Byrnes, tuba (2001); Neal Woolworth, trumpet (2001–2002); Caroline Steiger, horn (2014); Randolph Lee, trumpet (2015); Charles Hopkins, trombone (2015); Lauren Becker, horn (2015–2016).