Printer-friendly version

Academic Calendar

View 2016 Summer Session Dates

Revisions approved by President Esterberg on April 2, 2015.

Fall 2016

New Students Move In

Friday, August 26

Welcome Week Activities

Sat., August 27 - Fri., September 2

Returning Students Move In

Sat. - Sun., August 27 - 28

Classes Begin

Monday, August 29

Last Day to Add/Drop

Friday, September 2

Early Alerts Due

Friday, October 7

Fall Recess Begins

Friday, October 7 (10 p.m.)

Classes Resume

Wednesday, October 12 (8 a.m.)

Last Day to Withdraw

Friday, November 4

Last Day to Elect S/U

Friday, November 4

Thanksgiving Recess Begins

Tuesday, November 22 (10 p.m.)

Classes Resume

Monday, November 28 (8 a.m.)

Last Day of Classes

Friday, December 9

Academic Preparation

Sat. - Sun., December 10 - 11

Final Examinations

Mon. - Fri., December 12 - 16

Final Grades Due

Tuesday, December 20 (10 a.m.)


Online Session: December 22, 2016 - January 18, 2017
Campus Session: January 2 - January 13, 2017

Spring 2017

Students Move In

Sat. - Sun., Jan. 21 - 22

Classes Begin

Monday, January 23

Last Day to Add/Drop

Friday, January 27

February Recess Begins

Friday, February 17 (10 p.m.)

Classes Resume

Wednesday, February 22 (8 a.m.)

Early Alerts Due

Monday, March 6

Spring Recess Begins

Friday, March 24 (10 p.m.)

Classes Resume

Monday, April 3 (8 a.m.)

Last Day to Withdraw

Friday, April 7

Last Day to Elect S/U

Friday, April 7

Last Day of Classes

Friday, May 12

Academic Preparation

Sat. - Sun., May 13 - 14

Final Examinations

Mon. - Fri., May 15 - 19

Commencement Ceremonies

Sat. May 20

Final Grades Due

Wednesday, May 24 (10 a.m.)

* Pending Faculty Senate Action


Information Dates

Labor Day

Monday, September 5

Columbus Day

Monday, October 10


Thursday, November 24

Dr. MLK, Jr. Day

Monday, January 16

President's Day

Monday, February 20


Sunday, April 16

Clarkson Graduation

Saturday, May 13

Memorial Day

Monday, May 29


New York State Education Law Section 224-a requires campuses to excuse without penalty individual students absent from class because of religious beliefs and to provide equivalent opportunity to make up study or work requirements missed because of such absences. Faculty are advised not to give examinations or require that papers be due on those holidays. Students are required to notify faculty of their impending absence for religious purposes at least one class session in advance so arrangements can be made for making up missed assignments, quizzes or tests.Students are responsible for material presented during their absence.

Satterlee Photo