Academic Calendar

Fall 2013

New Students Move In

Thursday, August 22

Welcome Week Activities

Sat. August 24 - Fri. August 30

Returning Students Move In

Sat. & Sun., August 24 & 25

Classes Begin

Monday, August 26

Last Day to Add/Drop

Friday, August 30

Early Alerts Due

Monday, October 7

Fall Recess Begins

Friday, October 11 (10 p.m.)

Classes Resume

Wednesday, October 16 (8 a.m.)

Last Day to Withdraw

Tuesday, October 22

Last Day to Elect S/U

Tuesday, October 22

Thanksgiving Recess Begins

Tuesday, November 26 (10 p.m.)

Classes Resume

Monday, December 2 (8 a.m.)

Last Day of Classes

Friday, December 6

Academic Preparation

Sat. & Sun., December 7-8

Final Examinations

Mon.-Fri., December 9-13

Final Grades Due

Tuesday, December 17 (10 a.m.)


Winterim

  • Online 3 Week Session: December 26, 2013 - January 15, 2014
  • 2 Week Session (On-Campus, Hybrid and Online Classes): January 3 - 15, 2014; Classes held on Saturday, January 4

 

Spring 2014

Students Move In

Sat. & Sun., Jan. 18-19

Classes Begin

Monday, January 20

Last Day to Add/Drop

Friday, January 24

February Recess Begins

Friday, February 14 (10 p.m.)

Classes Resume

Wed., February 19 (8 a.m.)

Early Alerts Due

Friday, February 28

Last Day to Withdraw

Tuesday, March 18

Last Day to Elect S/U

Tuesday, March 18

Spring Recess Begins

Friday, March 21 (10 p.m.)

Classes Resume

Monday, March 31 (8 a.m.)

Last Day of Classes

Friday, May 9

Academic Preparation

Sat. & Sun., May 10 & 11

Final Examinations

Mon.-Fri., May 12-16

Undergraduate Honors Convocation

Saturday, May 17

SUNY Potsdam Master's Commencement

Saturday, May 17

SUNY Potsdam Bachelor's Commencement

Sunday, May 18

Final Grades Due

Wednesday, May 21 (10 a.m.)

 

Information Dates

Labor Day

Monday, September 2

Columbus Day

Monday, October 14

Thanksgiving

Thursday, November 28

Dr. MLK, Jr. Day

Monday, January 20

President's Day

Monday, February 17

Easter

Sunday, April 20

Clarkson Graduation

Saturday, May 10

Memorial Day

Monday, May 26


New York State Education Law Section 224-a requires campuses to excuse without penalty individual students absent from class because of religious beliefs and to provide equivalent opportunity to make up study or work requirements missed because of such absences. Faculty are advised not to give examinations or require that papers be due on those holidays. Students are required to notify faculty of their impending absence for religious purposes at least one class session in advance so arrangements can be made for making up missed assignments, quizzes or tests.Students are responsible for material presented during their absence.